ALL Lives Matter

Every weekday I drive from the Millenia Mall area to the Altamonte Springs area for work. At least three times a week, I see an accident and, sadly, at least one of those is a nasty one…the kind that makes your heart drop into your stomach and say a tiny prayer for those involved.

This morning was no different. Traffic was backed up for miles, two lanes were blocked, and when I drove by the accident scene paramedics were administering CPR on the passenger of one of the vehicles involved.

Every time I see an accident, I am baffled by the carelessness of some drivers. If everyone just slowed down and didn’t think they ruled the road, there would be a lot less “heart in your stomach” moments. There would be a lot less parents without children, children without parents, sisters without brothers, students without teachers, teachers without students.

For every 100,000 people in the state of Florida, roughly 2,300 of them will die in a vehicle-related accident this year. Why? So you can get to work 3 minutes earlier? Because you’re late to your appointment? Because you had to send that text message or make that phone call? Too many people think that they are the only ones that matter. Too many people think that the rules don’t apply to them or that they are invincible and can drive like a maniac. Too many people just don’t pay enough attention.

Wake up, people. Slow down, pay attention, and think about all those people in the cars around you. My life matters, your life matters, the child in the backseat of the car you are tailgating matters. All life is precious. ALL lives matter.

5 thoughts on “ALL Lives Matter

  1. I liked reading your post. In all my years of driving I never got into an accident until I moved here to Florida. Even to get a license here is way too easy nowadays, and the insurance is ridiculous. I was paying less car insurance in NY than I pay here in Florida. I was wondering what made you choose your title. When I saw it I thought it would’ve meant for another topic to be honest. Great way to intrigue people to read this blog.

    Like

    1. I thought the same thing. Honestly I didn’t know what to title it and since I used that line in my blog, I thought it fit. I can see how it would be construed a different (political) way though.

      Like

  2. I completely agree with you. There are way too many vehicle related deaths. It’s a complete waste of life. I’ve luckily never been in an accident before but my mom has been in many. None of them have ever been her fault and her car has been totaled twice. It’s very scary to think about.

    Like

  3. I found your post really interesting because it wasn’t the content I was expecting after seeing your title, but equally as touching. Car accidents are one of the leading causes of death and I’m glad that you brought life to this issue and how it even spoke to this idea of what lives matter that has been part of the media in recent times. I have used that phrase often and I thought this was a really unique situation to apply that idea to. Your questioning of the reasons for why people are careless drivers was very eye-opening and I think everyone can relate to those moments we are subconsciously driving and need to pay more attention to avoid accidents. Nothing is more important than safety–for everyone. Thanks for sharing 🙂

    Like

  4. I love how you repurposed the phrase all lives matter. It is scary to be on the road. I hardly ever have to go on I-4. I think people find it hard to stay focused on the moment and what the ramifications are while they are driving a human homicide machine. Perhaps when cars have autodrive traffic fatality issues will decline. For now, I will savor this post as a reminder to be better.

    Like

Leave a comment